The Pacific Palisades Woman's Club (PPWC) originated in 1925 with the name The Forum. When the Club joined the federal and state Federation of Women's Clubs in 1926, the name was officially changed to the Pacific Palisades Woman's Club. In 1935, the Pacific Palisades Junior Women's Club (PPJWC) was organized under the sponsorship of the PPWC (in particular, under the direction of Mrs. R. J. Morrison, who was the president of the PPWC).
The Club purchased one and a half lots of land formerly known as All Hallows Farm adjacent to the We Boys Club (now Aldersgate) at 901 Haverford in 1942. The construction and dedication of the Clubhouse occurred 1948 - 1951. During 1951-1965, the Club raised money and made improvements to the Clubhouse. By 1965, all the loans were paid off and the Clubhouse was owned entirely by the PPWC. In 1973, the Club bought the land that bordered Temescal Canyon, which today is the lower parking lot. Today, our property consists of three irregularly shaped lots and our much treasured Clubhouse.
In 1970, the PPWC and PPJWC became separate organizations. The two Clubs, however, continued to work on many joint projects. For example, in 1982, for the 60th anniversary of Pacific Palisades, NBC broadcast an afternoon show that included members of both clubs participating in a fashion show showcasing 1920's clothing.
In 2007, PPWC began its withdrawal from the Federation of Women's Clubs. In the subsequent two years, they became a 501(c)(3) organization. The withdrawal of PPWC from the Federation of Women's Clubs and their conversion to a 501(c)(3) status were two powerful impetuses for the rejoining of the PPWC and PPJWC. This reunification of the two Clubs occurred in 2012 under the leadership of Tricia Grossman and Trish Bowe.
Past PPWC Presidents
Past PPJWC Presidents